Top 5 Reads of 2016

All in all, 2016 was a damn good reading year for me. I’d hoped to read more from my favourite genre: non-fiction. But I’d also hoped to throw in a few more classics and jump into the somewhat intimidating world of comics and graphic novels. I managed to succeed on all fronts (woohoo!), of some of those books even managed to sneak their way into my top five! And so, in no particular order…

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
I don’t know a single person who hasn’t finished this book and not immediately wanted to (lovingly) throw it across the room. Why? Because this book hurts. A Monster Calls is the story of a young boy whose mother is suffering from cancer. It’s such a haunting story and with every single word, you really feel something.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
This book hit me right in the heart. Everything I Never Told You is the story of a mixed-race family who are trying to make sense of the middle child’s death. It was so easy to become immersed in the family’s life: the complexities of their relationships before and after Lydia’s death. I was totally engrossed and ate up every word.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
I picked Nimona up on a whim. What can I say? I thought it looked sweet. This graphic novel, originally a webcomic, follows the villainous Lord Blackheart as he butts heads with his rival, Sir Goldenloin. However! Blackheart is accompanied by Nimona, a shapeshifter with an unquenchable thirst for chaos. Nimona had me laughing, gasping and moved me to near-tears.

I Will Find You by Joanna Connors
In this memoir, Joanna Connors talks about her experience of rape. This work is incredibly personal. Joanna Connors invites her into her family life, even describing the toll that the rape took on her marriage and how her children responded when she told them. She then goes on to search for her rapist’s story. It’s a truly remarkable tale and beautifully told.

Fables, Volume 1: Legends in Exile by Bill Willinghman
Fairytales have long captured everyone’s hearts, and maybe that’s why retellings are so darn popular. In that sense, Fables is nothing special. I don’t know what it was. The art? The adult twist? Whatever it was, I was completely drawn into the world of the Fables, and can’t wait to continue the series!

img_4851
My favourite book of the year by far! Thank you, Noelle Stevenson, for blessing me with the wonderful story of ‘Nimona’.
Leave a Reply

