Comic Haul: Treating Myself in Adelaide

I recently had the great joy of visiting Adelaide, Australia with my family. While I’m hugely fond of my local comic store, it’s one of very few that I know of in the area. You can only imagine my excitement when one of the first stores I happened upon in Adelaide was filled to the brim with comics, manga and graphic novels.

Needless to say, I did pick up a few. How on earth could I resist a 20% off sale?

fullsizerender-3

A-Force, Volume 1: Hypertime by G. Willow Wilson
I don’t really know why I was so excited by this release, but I definitely was. I’m excited to be introduced to Singularity and totally love the idea of the group as a whole. I couldn’t help but get my hands on it.

DC Bombshells, Volume 2: Allies by Marguerite Bennett
liked Volume 1: Enlisted, but I wasn’t in love. But it felt like a good start… a good introduction. I have high hopes that this one really amps up the excitement.

Mockingbird, Volume 1: I Can Explain by Chelsea Cain
I had no reason for picking this. Seriously, none. It just jumped out to me on the shelf. And with so many books on that shelf… well, anything being able to jump out at me seemed like an achievement at the time.

Ms. Marvel, Volume 4: Last Days by G. Willow Wilson
I’m a little in love with this series, and with Volume 3: Crushed on its way in the post, I decided to pick this up to save myself the energy of having to do so later.

Ms. Marvel, Volume 5: Super Famous by G. Willow Wilson
…uh. I was saving myself a lot of energy?

Saga, Volume 3 by Brian K. Vaughan
I absolutely adored Saga, Volume 1. I already had Saga, Volume 2 on the way (oh, the miracles of online shopping…) and knew that as soon as I’d read that I’d be dying to pick this one up. I figured I’d beat myself to the punch.

Spider-Woman, Volume 1: Spider-Verse by Dennis Hopeless
What can I say? I’m a fan of Jessica Drew. The cover is totally bad-ass. I’ve heard so many mixed reviews about this one, but we’ll see how we go.

Storm, Volume 2: Bring the Thunder by Greg Pak
I wasn’t super impressed with Volume 1: Make It Rain, but wanted to give the series a second shot. Storm is such a cool character with so much potential… I just didn’t want to regret not following this series up.

Leave a Reply

