Adaptations of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen

I fell in love with the story of Pride and Prejudice long before I finally picked up the book. Recently, I posted about a few adaptations of Sense and Sensibility that I’ve come across in the past couple of years. I soon realised that I’ve also read some pretty cool adaptations of Austen’s most popular novel, Pride and Prejudice.

In 2009, Quirk Books published Seth Grahame-Smith’s Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. A parody of the original, this definitely has its humorous moments. For the most part, the humour isn’t really up my alley, but that’s hardly the book’s fault.

To be honest, it is pretty cool. The zombie element makes Elizabeth a little more badass. It also brings nice moments of hilarity to some of the book’s more intense and emotional scenes. So while not my favourite adaptation, there were still bits and bobs that I did really like about this book.

Moving on to a retelling! After the massive success of their YouTube miniseries, Bernie Su and Kate Rorick worked together in 2014 to write a novel adaptation: The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet. I absolutely adored the miniseries and was super excited when I saw that they’d released a companion novel.

And they did such a good job! I honestly think that anyone who enjoyed the miniseries is bound to enjoy this. It follows the basic plot of the miniseries, but you get to see a little bit more. It gets a little personal, a little more detailed, a little more exciting. For those of you who haven’t seen the miniseries, it’s essentially a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice. Lizzie Bennet decides to keep a video diary of sorts for a media project, and all of a sudden her life gets a little bit more interesting.

Overall, a really nice companion piece, although I’m not sure if I would’ve enjoyed it as much had I not been so invested in the miniseries.

The final adaptation I’ve chosen is Stacy King’s Pride and Prejudice. Part of the Manga Classics series, this adaptation tells the classic story in the style of manga (…obviously). And as always, they really nailed it.

The art is beautiful, the characters wonderfully designed. They don’t take too much away from the original story and they always stick pretty close to the original dialogue. It’s such a fun, quick (and aesthetically pleasing!) way to jump back into the wonderful story of Pride and Prejudice. I’d recommend it to anyone who wants to re-experience the story but doesn’t have time for a re-read… or even anyone who’s never read it, doesn’t actually want to, but does want to know what the story’s all about (I mean, there has to be a reason everyone on the planet seems to wax poetic about it, doesn’t there?).

img_4861

And there are so many more adaptations of Pride and Prejudice out there! Next on my list is Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld. It’s part of the Austen Project of which I read the first release, Sense and Sensibility by Joanna Trollope.

But I’m sure there are loads of other great ones available. What are some of your favourites?

5 thoughts on “Adaptations of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen

  1. This is a great post! Pride and Prejudice is my absolute favourite novel of all time! I have 12 copies of the book – I know, I can’t help myself.

    I haven’t read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but I will get around to it! I loved The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet – that was the most amazing youtube series ever! I have the book, and need to read it ASAP. Did you know there’s a Pride and Prejudice colouring book?! And a book called Gay Pride and Prejudice?? SO awesome how this book can be translated again and again 😀

    Like

  2. I’m a big fan of Pride and Prejudice, but have never gotten into the adaptations. I read about half of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, which was fun but the joke got old after awhile. I would really like to get my hands on Death Comes to Pemberly by P. D. James at some point though. That could be the jumping off point into loads of P&P adaptations for me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

