Wrapping Up January

Although January did have a lot of downtime for me, I found myself stumped by a few books this month that took me longer to read than they really should have. And what do I do when I get a bit stumped by a book? I break it up with a comic or a graphic novel. So I’m sorry (well, not really) that this month is a bit comic heavy, but that’s just the way the chips have fallen.

Since it would take way too long to talk about all the books I read this month, I really just want to talk about my stand-out favourites. You can check the images down below to check my ratings of all the books I read this month.

fullsizerender-10

But my favourites! Let’s get back to that.

Of all the comics I read this month, two really impressed me. First off, I have to talk about Giant Days, Volume 1 by John Allison. It follows three friends who are at university and their shenanigans. I loved the characters, I loved the humour, and I just loved the entire tone of this comic. I enjoyed the follow-up volume just as much, and I’m eager to pick up the third!

The second comic that brought a massive smile to my face was Starfire, Volume 1: Welcome Home. I talked a bit about this earlier, so I’m not going to ramble on. But I did love this. It reminded me of all the reasons I fell in love with Starfire as a kid, and I can’t wait to pick up volume two.

In the YA world, I fell a little in love with A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard. I wrote about this here, so I’m not going to talk about this for ages and ages, but I did think this book was really well done. The characters were sweet and relatable, the plot had its cliché moments without making the entire book seem overdone, and there were some really wonderful messages that I think are going to resonate with its readers.

An honourable mention has to go to Middlemarch by George Eliot. I loved this. The characters, their relationships, the writing style… it all came together for me. I’m going to talk a bit more about this is in a later post, so I’m not going to on about it, but believe me when I say that there is a reason why this book is a well loved classic.

2 thoughts on “Wrapping Up January

  1. I LOVE Middlemarch, it’s seriously one of my favorites. It can be rough to get through in places, but it’s so rewarding. My old Literature professor used to say, “there are two kinds of people in this world: those who have read Middlemarch and those who have not”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

