Review: ‘Batgirl (The New 52)’ by Gail Simone

I recently bought all five volumes of the beautiful hardback editions of Batgirl (The New 52) by Gail Simone. I’ve heard so many people talk about how this is one of the better runs in the New 52, so when I saw these secondhand copies up for a decent price, I couldn’t help myself.

In Volume 1: The Darkest Reflection, we are introduced to Barbara Gordon aka Batgirl. After being shot and paralysed by the Joker, Barbara Gordon has only just got back on her feet. Still, she’s way out of practice and suffering from PTSD.

In this volume, Batgirl takes on two main villains: Mirror and Gretel. For reasons I can’t explain, I found myself a little bit disappointed in them. Mirror’s motives just didn’t fly for me and I found Gretel a bit dull.

That being said, this volume really hits the ground running. There’s no faffing about, and I was excited to pick the next volume.

The next volume, Knightfall Descends, is just as exciting, if not more so. In this volume, we’re treated to a little bit more of Barbara’s backstory, which I think those who are newer to DC characters will really appreciate.

Most exciting is the introduction of her younger brother, apparently a convicted serial killer. It added a nice element darkness to the story, typical of Bat Family stories. I found this volume more exciting than the first, and it ended up being one of my favourites of the set.

Death of the Family is the third volume. Barbara is finally forced to face her PTSD head-on when the Joker captures her mother. I thought this volume had some really great moments. My lower rating comes simply because I thought it had just as many moments that fell flat for me.

Wanted was my definite favourite of all five. Detective Gordon is on the hunt. For Batgirl. Barbara Gordon. His daughter. Seriously. Is it even possible to get a better a premise?!

The run concludes with Deadline. This volume didn’t end the series as well as I’d hoped it would. To be fair, it’s a perfectly acceptable volume. There just wasn’t a lot of oomph, if you know what I mean. The collection felt a little disjointed, and the ending felt overdone and a little anti-climatic.

fullsizerender-6

Still, I still really enjoyed everything. What can I say? I thought it was a really solid read. I enjoyed most the storylines and most of the art. What more can a gal ask for?

Have you read these? If so, let me know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

