Review: ‘She-Hulk, The Complete Collection: Volume 1’ by Dan Slott

Some of you may recognise this from one of my hauls earlier this year. I’ve read bits and bobs about Jennifer Walters, but never picked up one of her own comics. But I totally loved the idea of her as a character, and was super keen to get into Dan Slott’s She-Hulk, The Complete Collection: Volume 1.

For some reason, Dan Slott’s She-Hulk really just didn’t do it for me. Chiefly, I didn’t find myself loving the character as much as I thought I would. Even though I still adore the concept, I found myself getting more and more irritated with Jen. I didn’t find her humorous or endearing. I didn’t feel sympathetic towards her and I certainly didn’t feel as though I connected with her on any level. I just wasn’t invested in her.

img_4933

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-3-52-13-am

The art was nice. I didn’t hate it. I didn’t fall in love with it either, but that’s fine. It was just nice.

As for the issues themselves, there were some hits and misses. That’s always expected. The collection starts with Jen as a hot mess. She’s partying hard, shirking her responsibilities as a lawyer, and annoying her fellow Avengers to the point that they decide to boot her from the team. The rest of the collection follows her as she… well, as she gets her shit together. She learns to balance Jennifer with She-Hulk, and combine her abilities as a lawyer with her superhuman strength.

I particularly enjoyed reading the parts where She-Hulk and Spiderman got to interact. Although I wouldn’t call any of the collection overwhelmingly serious, their conversations and quips brought a nice light-heartedness – a nice humour – to the collection. I also really loved the dynamic between She-Hulk and Southpaw. Again, it brought a great humour to the collection.

Overall, I guess I didn’t dislike this collection. There were some really excellent issues. It had me smiling, it had me laughing. Jennifer Walters was totally kickass as She-Hulk and totally kickass as her lawyer human self. But it took me a long time to read, y’know? I wasn’t dying to pick it up whenever I had a spare moment.

But even if it didn’t reel me in, I’d still recommend it to anyone who wants to find out a little more about Jen. It’s a mammoth collection and includes nice little snippets about her origin story and all that good stuff.

There was humour! There was action! There was even a little bit of sex. It had all the right ingredients for a wicked awesome story. So sure, it didn’t exactly hook me, but I did enjoy reading it and I imagine that many people will enjoy it way more than I did.


Let me know if you’ve read this and enjoyed it! I’m tempted to pick up Scott Byrne’s The Sensational She-Hulk, because I’ve heard so many good things about it. I’m hoping that I fall in love with his run in that same way I’d hoped to with Dan Slott’s!

Leave a Reply

