Book Haul: Taking a Break from Flat-Hunting…

I’ve recently been faced with the most arduous of tasks: hunting for a flat. I can’t even begin to tell you how stressed out this has made me. Anyway, I was pretty desperate to escape for a wee bit and ended up visiting my favourite book store.

And so, today I have a book haul to share you with you! I always love seeing what picks have snuck their way onto my friends’ shelves, so I hope you enjoy it too!

fullsizerender
The packing boxes needed to be in the background to prove that I’m actually moving, obviously.

Ulysses by James Joyce
This is just one those books that I’ve always meant to read. That’s it. That’s the only reason why I picked it up. That’s the most boring reason ever (sorry!), but that’s really all there is to it.

It by Stephen King
I have read of Stephen King’s books. Two. And neither of them were horrors. I’m not really good with horrors, but Stephen King is my brother’s absolute favourite author. I figured I had to give it a shot.

The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoevsky
In a desperate attempt to hype myself up to the point of reading some of Dostoevsky’s larger novels, I picked up some of his smaller ones first. After making my way through The Gambler, Notes from the Underground and Notes from the Dead House, I’ve finally decided to bite the bullet.

Adam Bede by George Eliot
After reading Middlemarch, I knew I needed to read more from Eliot. There were a few of hers at the store, but this one’s synopsis drew me in the most. Having already read this, I can say that this was an excellent pick and I loved it.

The Art of War by Sun Tzu
I’m not gonna lie. I picked this up because of its aesthetic pull. This book is incredibly beautiful. The cover, the quality of the pages… I just couldn’t say no. I figured it would also be a nice addition to my Reading Chinese Classics series.

Habibi by Craig Thompson
The store I was in isn’t really known for stocking graphic novels or comics, so I was really surprised when I saw this there. I’ve heard so much about this and have had my eye on it for a while, but it’s always been way too expensive for me to justify buying. Fortunately, I had a reward available and managed to snag this for 50% off. It’s such an attractive-looking book, and I can’t wait to see what the fuss is about.


And there we go! The cure to stress is, apparently, buying a pile of books. Have you hauled any books recently? If so, let me know what you’ve picked up and why!

Leave a Reply

