#BetterWorldBooks Challenge: ‘Wuthering Heights’ by Emily Brontë and ‘Panic’ by Lauren Oliver

A while ago, I posted about the first two books I read for the 2017 BetterWorldBooks challenge. And, surprise! It’s time for me to talk about another two challenges on the list that I’ve fulfilled recently.

The third challenge I opted to complete was to read a book that is more than 100 years old. I do actively try to read books written in various decades and centuries, so picking a book that was over 100 years old was as easy as going to my bookshelf and finding one that I’d maybe been putting off a bit.

In the end, I settled for Wuthering Heights by Charlotte Brontë. I feel like I would’ve enjoyed this a lot more had I not had preconceived notions and expectations for this novel. I wanted this to be my new favourite, you know? I wanted to love this as much as I’d loved Sense and Sensibility and Middlemarch (and we all know that I really loved them).

…I sort of hated it. Okay, okay. ‘Hate’ is putting it way too strongly. It’s a love story. A love story that goes very, very wrong. And even though that’s the sort of summary that usually piques my interest, I just couldn’t get into this. I didn’t connect with the characters, I wasn’t overwhelmed by the writing style, and the plot didn’t blow my mind.

So sure, it was all right. I know there are so many people out there who love this book. It just wasn’t for me.

img_4943It only seemed right to pick (what is, in my mind) the complete opposite of an ageing classic for the next challenge: to read a young adult novel. And yeah, I know that YA isn’t the newest genre on the planet, but no one can deny that its definitely picked up its pace in the past few years.

I decided to pick up Panic by Lauren Oliver. When this book came out, I was stupid excited. I don’t even know why I was excited. Anyway, I was super excited and so, unsurprisingly, I didn’t bother to read it.

The story follows a group of friends. All in their senior year, they have the opportunity to participate in a game: Panic. The game is essentially an extreme version of Dare, and the winning prize is over $60 000. As the game gets more and more dangerous, relationships become more strained, and each character begins to reveal their motives for participating.

It’s an interesting premise and I can see why there was so much hype when this book first came out. My issue was just that I didn’t buy it. The whole competition seemed bizarre to me. With the exception of the money (and to be honest, how the money was acquired also seemed strange), I couldn’t figure out why the hell anyone was bothering with it.

Besides that, I wasn’t invested in the characters at all. So while I appreciate that it was a quick and easy read, it wasn’t one that really thrilled me.


Let me know how your challenges are going! I hope you’re all being pushed out of your reading comfort zones and finding new treasures.

One thought on “#BetterWorldBooks Challenge: ‘Wuthering Heights’ by Emily Brontë and ‘Panic’ by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

